Brexit

I’ve spent most of today feeling depressed and angry.  
Being married to an EU citizen who lives with me in the UK and listening to them say how devastated and rejected they are feeling, has really taken its toll. 

I’m feeling so angry and have directed that anger towards those people who voted to leave. Now that I’m feeling a little calmer, I’m beginning to take a more nuanced position.
The people who voted to leave should, in part, take responsibility for their actions. However, those who are really to blame are the powerful 1% in our country, who own 60% of the wealth.  
After the financial crash, they got even richer and the rest of us were subjected to crippling austerity. Instead of us directing our anger at them, we have been manipulated into directing our anger at each other: immigrants, Muslims, disabled people, gay people and the list goes on. 
It’s absolutely understandable that within such a climate, the British people would return a vote to leave the EU.
If I stay angry at the leave voters, the cycle continues and the powerful 1% win.  
I hate the racist and xenophobic tone behind the Brexit campaign, but now hope that this terrible situation will mobilise people to take a stand against our real enemy! 
Poverty and inequality is a choice and not an inevitability.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment